Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto:  Message ListNew TopicSearchLog In
The passive and active voice.
Posted by: maeterlinck (IP Logged)
Date: 5 December, 2006 08:01PM
I have been making attempts at fiction for a few years now and have not had much formal education or training. That said, I am hoping that one of you gents might help me define the meanings of the active and passive voice in writing. Tonight I read it has nothing to do with tense; but when ever I read examples of passive setences it usually has words ending with "ed", or complete words like was and were that seem to imply past tense.
I also read that passive means the subject dictates the action(the verb), and that in active writing the verb dictates subject. Generaly, it seems to me that the active says more with less words.
Thanks inadvance,

Re: The passive and active voice.
Posted by: calonlan (IP Logged)
Date: 6 December, 2006 09:05AM
Dear Maeterlinck:

Active: Lions eat Zebras -- Passive: Zebras are eaten by lions.

Refer to www.englishclub.com or specifically google Grammar:Active and Passive voice; there are numerous sources available to clarify the subject.
Active voice tends to be the form of ordinary speech in which the object takes the action of the verb -- I threw the ball.
In the passive voice the subject recieves the content of the verb -- The ball was thrown by me.
Most simplistically, passive voice is commonly characterized by the use of some form of the verb "to be": is, are, am, was, were, will be, will have been, etc.

Tense is not relevant.

Note: Puella pulchra illa gluteum maximum bonum habet! -- That cute chick has really great buns. -- Passive

I want to jump her bones! - active

Posted by: rutledge_442 (IP Logged)
Date: 7 December, 2006 07:46AM
E-mail me at

yithian442@yahoo.com

I'd like to read your work.

Date: 7 December, 2006 07:46PM
I cringe at the thought of some one else seeing, my below ametuer scriblings at this point.

Thanks though,

Date: 8 December, 2006 06:36AM