Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto:  Message ListNew TopicSearchLog In
What next for a new C.A.S. fan?
Posted by: Anonymous User (IP Logged)
Date: 1 May, 2003 01:56PM

Hello all,

I'm new here so forgive me if I am asking one of those questions that pops up everyday from drifters and newbies. I am fairly new to the works of Clark Ashton Smith and recently finished the British collection "The Emperor of Dreams." I think most here probably udnerstand what I'm talking about when I say I instantly fell in love with Smith's writings. Now I find my self hungry again for more of Smith's tales and am unsure what stories to seek out in book or e-text form. I know that even a talent like Smith surely has some works that are only worth hunting down if one wishes to be a completist about things--and, as much as I like him, I'd rather discover new *great* weird fiction/fantasy than spend too much time in mediocre or disapointing C.A.S. tales. Make sense? But I'm sure there has to be a pretty good asortment of his tales that *are* worth seeking out and were not featured in "The Emperor of Dreams." Suggestions?

Thanks,

- RL

PS - Great site!

Re: What next for a new C.A.S. fan?
Posted by: Ron Hilger (IP Logged)
Date: 1 May, 2003 08:23PM
Hi Robert-
While "The Emperor of Dreams" is a substantial collection, it focuses on Fantasy and does not contain Smith's Science Fiction tales, in which genre CAS was a major pioneering influence. "The City of the Singing Flame" and "The Vaults of Yoh-Vombis" are two of CAS' very best tales which are not included in "Emperor" but are in the Arkham House collection "A Rendezvous in Averoigne" which has just been reprinted. There is a substantial overlap in stories between these two books, but there are perhaps a dozen new tales in the Arkham book, all of them excellent.