Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto:  Message ListNew TopicSearchLog In
CAS in strange places
Posted by: Daniel Harris (IP Logged)
Date: 1 November, 2003 01:49PM
I was reading "The Door to Saturn" last night, with IE open to the OED as is my wont (I'm a student, so I can use it for free). When I looked up the word "malisons," I discovered an interesting fact: the OED definition for the word cited the exact passage in "The Door to Saturn" that I was reading! The passage is as follows, "the malisons which he muttered..., were of truly cabalistic length and fearfulness." So CAS is in the OED (he was one of only two 20th century examples of the word's usage). I have also found references to CAS in a few other odd places as of late. The visionary sci-fi author PKD makes a reference to him in the last chapter (I think) of his novel Radio Free Albemuth. In a passage talking about the government using science fiction to disseminate propaganda, one of the characters playfully suggests that they utilize the prose style of Clark Ashton Smith, and they come up with a hilarious false story name (which I forget, and I don't have my copy of the book with me). It is revealing to know that PKD was familiar with CAS's work, because many of PKD's ideas could be traceable to such CAS fare as "The Plutonian Drug." Another strange context in which I encountered a reference to CAS was in an interview with the British experimental electronic outfit Cyclobe. One of their pieces is entitled "Genius Loci," which I had always thought was a nod to CAS, but they confirmed it in their interview, and stated that they preferred his and HPL's treatment of sci-fi to that of "pure" sci-fi writers.
Anyway, thought you guys would find this stuff interesting.

Re: CAS in strange places
Posted by: Boyd Pearson (IP Logged)
Date: 1 November, 2003 02:06PM
It's fascinating to see CAS's influences on the periphery of 'modern' culture. He is often described as 'forgotten'. Of course we all haven't.