Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto:  Message ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Averoigne revisited
Posted by: Gaspard du Nord (IP Logged)
Date: 26 June, 2013 08:06PM
I'm probably at the pulpish end of the spectrum that constitutes admirers of CAS. In 2011, learning that Marvin Kaye had bought Weird Tales and intended to show more respect for its roots, I submitted a couple of stories. One was a new tale of Averoigne, which Kaye described as "excellent" and accepted along with another.

Early this month, Kaye abruptly and impersonally informed me and quite a few others that he was going "to pass" on our stories as a means of reducing his "huge fiction inventory." I have been a professional writer and editor from the age of 18 (and the author of 25 published novels under another pen-name) and have never come across similar disregard of a commitment in my life.

I have now issued my two stories as an independently published Kindle eBook, Witchery: A Duo of Weird Tales. An introduction tells the full story of its raison d'etre, and forms perhaps a story even more weird than the fiction!

I'd be pleased to hear any comments and criticisms about Black Art in Vyones.

Re: Averoigne revisited
Posted by: wilum pugmire (IP Logged)
Date: 26 June, 2013 10:26PM
I am sorry to hear that your stories have been so badly treated by WEIRD TALES. I was rather excited about Kaye taking over as editor and hoping to concentrate, moreso than other editors, on returning in some fashion to WT's roots--but this is extremely discouraging. I have long had this intense ache to work on a book of tales inspired by Smith's oeuvre, but the few stories that I have written have not been too impressive, and I doubt that I have what it takes for this longed-for project. But I can't stop returning to it and trying one more time. Alas that I don't own Kindle and cannot read your tales.

"I'm a little girl."
--H. P. Lovecraft, Esq.

Posted by: Gill Avila (IP Logged)
Date: 26 June, 2013 11:45PM