Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto:  Message ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Goto Page: 123AllNext
Current Page: 1 of 3
Clark Ashton Smith and writers block
Posted by: OConnor,CD (IP Logged)
Date: 8 October, 2009 08:44PM
I am still learning about CAS and may I say reading his work is like escaping from the confines of this world and going on a real vacation. But he was human and I am curious to know whether or not he ever had time periods where he knew what he wanted to say but could not find the language to present it properly. How did he deal with the anger which comes from it and how did he eventually overcome it. I am finishing a weird sketch and would like to know how CAS dealt with this sort of thing.

Re: Clark Ashton Smith and writers block
Posted by: calonlan (IP Logged)
Date: 8 October, 2009 09:13PM
From conversations with Clark over several years, I can tell you only my impressions, as we discussed literature in general, and the act of writing in particular - When I knew him, the majority of his corpus had been completed, though a few more pieces emerged in the last years. Facility in acquiring a "style" comes from writing lots -