Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto:  Message ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Edgar Allan Poe getting proper funeral
Posted by: cathexis (IP Logged)
Date: 11 October, 2009 03:30PM
Greetings All,

This is my first post. My name is Cathexis and I'm very new to CAS but not to
HPL or REH. I'm a reader not a writer and I thought some might enjoy reading
this news story on Mr. Poe who was a big influence on Klarkash-Ton, IIRC.

Enjoy!

Cathexis

Begin Paste:

Edgar Allan Poe getting proper funeral

Ben Nuckols ASSOCIATED PRESS

BALTIMORE | For Edgar Allan Poe, 2009 has been a better year than 1849. After dozens of events in several cities to mark the 200th anniversary of his birth, he's about to get the grand funeral that a writer of his stature should have received when he died.

One hundred sixty years ago, the beleaguered, impoverished Poe was found, delirious and in distress outside a Baltimore tavern. He was never coherent enough to explain what had befallen him since leaving Richmond a week earlier. He spent four days in a hospital before he died at age 40.

Poe's cousin, Neilson Poe, never announced his death publicly. Fewer than 10 people attended the hasty funeral for one of the 19th century's greatest writers. And the injustices piled on. Poe's tombstone was destroyed before it could be installed, when a train derailed and crashed into a stonecutter's yard. Rufus Griswold, a Poe enemy, published a vitriolic obituary that damaged Poe's reputation for decades.

But on Sunday, Poe's funeral will get an elaborate do-over, with two services expected to draw about 350 people each - the most a former church next to his grave can hold. Actors portraying Poe's contemporaries and other long-dead writers and artists will pay their respects, reading eulogies adapted from their writings about Poe.

"We are following the proper etiquette for funerals. We want to make it as realistic as possible," said Jeff Jerome, curator of the Poe House and Museum.