Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto:  Message ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Clark Ashton Smith And The King James Bible
Posted by: Absquatch (IP Logged)
Date: 14 January, 2010 06:08PM
To what extent was CAS influenced by the style of the translators of the King James Bible, do you think? I was just re-reading CAS's "To the Sun", and the Biblical cadences of the free verse struck me. Coincidence, or some other influence? I've certainly never read any CAS criticism that discussed such a stylistic influence (although I am no expert in the secondary literature on CAS, either).

Re: Clark Ashton Smith And The King James Bible
Posted by: calonlan (IP Logged)
Date: 26 January, 2010 01:02PM
Ashton was well-read in the KJV, and a great admirer -
We often joked about the Book of Mormon as an obvious faux attempt to imitate the late and splendidly memorable writing in the KJV - He of course had early introductions through both his Mother, and the public school of those days - plus, he was avid about checking footnotes, particularly in Shakespeare, Milton, Spenser et al - since they are rife with biblical references - although Chaucer and Shakespeare pre-date the KJV - it should be noted that Shakespeare would have had a strong intro to Latin as a schoolboy of 5 years of age, and while all serious readers (and the translators themselves) were well grounded in Latin, they deliberately chose to write in an elevated style as appropriate to the subject matter, and not in the common speech of the early 1600's.
Example: "...faith is the substance of things hoped for..." the Greek is "Hypostasis" - substance is the Latin wherein prefix and root have the same meaning - that is, "the thing standing below,or underneath" - the earliest know etymology of this is that of a signature at the bottom of a deed, validating ownership - not "raw material". The Hernia edition of the old Webster's often had information at that level.

Date: 26 January, 2010 08:39PM